PC-HEART is the major project of Patient-centered Education and Research


PC-HEART is the major project of Patient-centered Education and Research, a Utah based 501(c)(3) public charity. Patient-centered Education and Research Board oversees the activities of PC-HEART.

PC-HEART was directed by a steering committee for its first 7 years.


You may contact Sarah Goodlin, President of Patient-centered Education and Research for more information or if you are interested in helping us accomplish our work in any way.


Visit our Patient Centered Donations page, or:

Mail our Utah office:
Patient-Centered Education & Research
9967 South 2240 East Suite 1
Sandy, UT 84092

Or mail our Oregon office:
Patient-Centered Education & Research
3408 SW Carolina Street
Portland, OR 97239


PC-HEART began with funding from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in 2003 and 2004. Other important funding came from:

  • The George S. and Dore Eccles Foundation
  • Scios
  • Patrick Byrne
  • The Byrne Foundation
  • Boston Scientific
  • Medtronic
  • The family of Ray Hall
  • The St. Jude Medical Foundation
  • The Hospice Foundation of Northern Utah
  • Smith Barney
  • The Shafer family
  • Jean Larsen
  • Pat Farquar
  • The Mayday Fund
  • James Seale
  • The Regence Foundation
  • Home Instead
  • And many other generous individuals

Steering Committee Members

PC-HEART Steering Committee Members included:

  • Kathleen Dracup DNSc, RN, Dean School of Nursing, University of California-San Francisco
  • Arthur Feldman MD, Chair, Department of Medicine, Thomas Jefferson University School of Medicine
  • JoAnn Lindenfeld MD, Professor and Director Heart Transplantation Program, University of Colorado Health Sciences Center
  • John W. Luber MD, Cardiothoracic Surgeon and Chairman of the Research Committee for the Franciscan Heart Center, Tacoma Washington
  • True Ryndes ,ANP, MPH CEO, National Hospice Work Group and Vice-president for Public Policy and Advocacy, San Diego Hospice and Palliative Care
  • Marc Silver MD Chairman, Department of Medicine Director, Heart Failure Institute, Advocate Christ Medical Center
  • Porter Storey MD Executive Vice President, American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine
  • Mary Walsh MD, Director of CHF and Nuclear Cardiology, The Care Group LLC, Indianapolis, IN
  • Clyde Yancy MD, Medical Director, Baylor Heart and Vascular Institute, Baylor University Medical Center Dallas, TX